top of page

Double the joy this leap year

Leap Day was aptly named for two of our group members this year when they were presented with the ‘Group Member of the Year’ award, leaving them leaping for joy!

Every year each sections’ leaders are asked to nominate one of their members for this prestigious award, choosing the person they feel best captures the true spirit of scouting. Standards are always high but this year two members were deemed to be so exceptional that rather than choose between them, it was decided they should both be presented with the award.

For the first time, thanks to a kind donation by our new friends at Birkdale Trophies of Noke Lane, the chosen winners were presented with an impressive engraved trophy bearing the group’s logo on the front, and the names of both this years and previous winners. Senior designer & workshop manager of Birkdale Trophies,

Tarran-Joe Summers presented the new trophy to this years winners; Megan.M (Birchwood cubs) and Abbi.T (Wolf cubs).

Annette Payne – St. Albans District Commissioner presented a small silver plate to each of winners as well as the two pervious winners; Oliver.R (Thumpers Beavers 2013) and Emily.M (Thumpers Beavers 2014). Christopher Holliss, the group’s GSL also presented the winners with a £10 Cotswolds gift voucher.

Chris Holliss said: It speaks volumes to hear from all the section leadership teams on how hard it is just to pick one member out of so many wonderful young people. To have 5 finalists who have shown to their leaders the passion, drive, and care that scouting is all about is a credit not only to themselves, but also to their parents and their leaders. It was a very proud moment for me to announce the names of these two winners who totally deserved this award. Never have I seen two young ladies strive to tackle all the tasks and obstacles that they have faced within Beavers and now cubs always having a smile even on a cold wet camp morning. Well done to you both.”

I would also like to thank on behalf of the group both Tarran-Joe Summers and Annette Payne for kindly taking the time to join us to present these awards which made the experience special for the winners.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page